Rodefeld and Wickemeyer Awards


This is a great way to honor those who help support your organization through volunteer service or giving (or both).  You’ll see a listing of the past recipients – a very prestigious bunch – below!  Shouldn’t your volunteers or donors be included on that list? 


We’ll honor the 2018 recipients at our annual dinner and remember the organizations which nominate the 2018 recipients will each receive a $1,000 grant!! 





For Leadership in Philanthropy and the Community



The Charles A. Rodefeld Award for Leadership in Philanthropy and the Community honors a man who was not widely known as a philanthropist or worker for non-profit organizations.  He was, instead, a person who moved quietly but steadily to help meet community needs.  The Rodefeld Award seeks to recognize Wayne County citizens and/or companies who have been there when agencies or organizations most needed them, who served faithfully and well, though without fanfare, and who have provided leadership and significant financial support over the years.  To qualify for the Charles A. Rodefeld Award, an individual, corporation,  or organization must have demonstrated exceptional leadership and innovative commitment to addressing  a community concern or a dedication to improving the effectiveness of an existing charitable institution while maintaining an attitude of humility.  Evidence of achievement must be demonstrated by gifts of volunteer leadership and significant personal/corporate resources.




1994 – Charles A. Rodefeld, Richmond


1995 – Robert W. Rosa, Richmond                                   


1996 – J. Ross and Natalie Harrington, Richmond


1997 – Kathleen Postle, Centerville                                 


1998 – Becky Rosa, Richmond                                            


1999 – John M. Harlan, Richmond                                 


2000 – Jim and Helen Cope, Centerville      


2001 – William R. Niersbach, Richmond


2002 – Victor R. Jose, Richmond


2003 – Donald C. McCullough, Hagerstown


2004 – Tom and Claire Ann Milligan, Richmond


2005 – Inezetta Stiver, Centerville


2006 – Paul Lingle, Richmond


2007 – Andy Cecere, Richmond


2008 – Albert Gentry, Richmond


2009 – Jon Ford, Richmond


2010 – David and Carla Stidham, Richmond


2011 – Richard “Jeff” Jeffers, Richmond


2012 – Cheri Jetmore, Richmond


2013 – Father John Luerman, Richmond


2014 – Dr. Frank and Mrs. Mary Alice Adney, Richmond


2015 – Jack and Debra Edelman, Richmond


2016 Ray Ontko, Richmond


2017 - Ginger Gray, Richmond



For Community Service



Named for the Foundation’s first Executive Director, this award recognizes paid or volunteer not-for-profit leaders who personify exceptional service to others in the name of community progress. Ruth is perhaps best remembered for maintaining the highest ethical standards and expressing true appreciation for even the smallest contributions.


Candidates must demonstrate a history of significant service in the Wayne County not-for-profit community, an unswerving commitment to the highest ethical standards, and evidence of articulating a vision for community improvement by their leadership and/or significant accomplishments.





2006 – Pat Bowers, Easter Seals

2007 – Wilbur “Rody” Rodenberg, Achieva Resources

2008 – Dr. James Daggy, Boys and Girls Clubs of Wayne County

2009 – Betty Mark, National Association for Mentally Ill

2010 – Alan Spears, Cope Environmental Center

2011 – David Nixon, Boy Scouts

2012 – Jill King, Cambridge City First United Methodist Church

2013 – Penn Ansorg, Morrisson-Reeves Library

2014 – Aileen Wickett Harris, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

2015 – Karole Passmore, Second Helpings

2016 – Mark W. Harris, Independent Living Center

2017 – June Miller, Special Olympics






Today. Tomorrow. Forever.

Gray Line

Donate to the WCF

33 South 7th Street
Richmond, IN  47374
Phone: (765) 962-1638

Contact Us

Site Developed by:

Stay In the Loop

Stay up-to-date on Foundation activities and philanthropic giving!
Sign up for our weekly eNewsletter.

social media

social media Linked in for WCF twitter wcf

2018© Wayne County Foundation, Inc., Wayne County, Indiana

The Wayne County, Indiana, Foundation, Inc. exists to foster and encourage private philanthropic giving, to enhance the spirit of community and to improve the quality of life in the Wayne County, Indiana, area now and for future generations.

Confirmed in Compliance
with National Standards
for U.S. Community Foundations